The catch up – Part 2 – Where I’m at with MCTD

January 21, 2023

I was watching an episode of Bel-Air – you know the new version of Fresh Prince? There was a basketball game on and I was enjoying the game, the team camaraderie, the competition and the highs of a win. I watched with a big grin on my face and then, as is a common experience of grief, suddenly I was sobbing, deep, painful crying from deep in my chest. It only lasted about 30 seconds and unfortunately I am familiar with this sudden rush of grief when watching basketball.

I played basketball from 10 years old until I moved to the UK when I was 21 and then picked it up again for one more year when I was around 26 – until MCTD symptoms started and I physically could not longer play. To say I miss it is an understatement, it is an ache deep inside me and something I can’t seem to accept will never be a part of my life anymore.

Our nieces are basketball players – in fact one is over in the USA playing basketball at college – which is very exciting. I love watching them play but at the same time, I want to be on the court, slapping hands with team mates after a foul shot, feeling that rush when the ball swishes through the net. I am so sad that I can not have that joy in my life and trust me, I have tried. About once every six months I drag my husband to the local court and shoot some baskets, dribble up and down and attempt a little one on one. Afterwards my knees lock up, my shoulders ache and I can’t raise my arms, my fingers swell and a deep malaise hits me and a flare is underway. And this is literally after 30 minutes of playing around, there is no way I could join a team and risk letting people down. So, basketball stays in my past and I let the grief rush through me when it comes.  

In recent months MCTD has been bothering me again, more than it has in years. Pain in my knees jumps from one to the other – literally making it hard for me to stand from sitting, get off the ground – or the toilet – and sometimes even just changing positions in bed.

My shoulders are so weak I struggle to reach my arms up to get dressed and do my hair. It’s not impossible but it takes a lot of energy. I find myself referring to my ‘spoons’ again like the old days.

I need multiple days to recover after exercise and I go to bed each day exhausted with raised glands and a heaviness that then pins me to the bed. I wake throughout the night because of the pain and strength I need to draw on to change positions.

I’ve booked in with my rheumy again in a few weeks, I haven’t seen him in person in years – maybe my medication needs adjusting.

What it makes me realise, as I move towards 40 is that what I can do with my body is only going to decrease. Whether it is because of MCTD or age or both, things are not going to get easier and so what this says to me is I need to move my body and do what I can while I can. Right now, this means aqua aerobics, long walks with the dogs, Pilates and the occasional weights session when I feel really good. I know I have to rest and that I will never be able to be consistent with exercise as long as MCTD rears its ugly head, but I will keep showing up and doing something as long as I am able.

2 Responses to “The catch up – Part 2 – Where I’m at with MCTD”

  1. jodiebodie said

    Hi Naomi,
    How cool about your nieces basketball but I am also sorry for your loss of your own basketball capacity. I can empathise, missing the ability to go cycling, kick the footy or swim – activities I loved (and which were my ‘go-to’ stress management tools) and now not available due to MCTD.
    I wonder whether the sustained extra activity around your university degree has contributed to the MCTD flares. Not suggesting to ditch university though – I reckon it is an awesome achievement and important for you to complete. You have so much life experience to bring to the role of social worker and be excellent at it.
    How do you manage the demands of study and work placements in order to control MCTD as much as possible? Social work has been described as a stressful vocation. May you be able to avoid the worst scenarios and manage your health while enjoying the satisfaction of such a meaningful and important role.
    MCTD still dominates my life which revolves around maintaining therapies and rebuilding supports that were lost during the pandemic and transition to NDIS in my state.
    Thankful to be able to get back online a little and thrilled to reconnect with you, an MCTD ally, through your blog.
    May 2023 be great! Jodie xx

    • Hi Jodie, thanks for your message. I am really sorry that mctd is stopping you from doing all those physical activities. It is a really good reminder to me again, to be thankful for what I can still do. For uni, I think because the majority of it is brain power, it’s OK. I work 3 days and have classes for a couple of hours on the other 2 and pretty much do uni work all weekend but never after 5pm. My head and body shut down and the evenings are for relaxation. I like the variety of study and work and I get more sleep ins with uni so that helps. I’ll just have to see how I go with the actual career, I won’t know until I try. It’s very diverse and there will be challenges in all areas but there are some areas I won’t work in.
      I hope you’re doing as well as possible. Also, There was an error when I uploaded part one of my catch up so I hope you caught that too 🙂 http://www.mctd.wordpress.com

Leave a comment