The catch up – Part 1

January 21, 2023

I’m quite shocked that it has been almost two years since my last post. A lot has happened and too much to go into detail so I’m breaking this post into two parts. One a general life and health update and then Part 2, where I am at with MCTD.
What’s been happening:
– I embarked on my life’s Plan B – which is a new career path in social work and started a 4-year Bachelor of Social Work (honours) course in 2021

– In 2021 I had my fallopian tubes removed due to endometriosis

– Hubby and I continued trying for one more IVF round in 2021 which failed and after 5 years of trying, many surgeries, many IVF cycles, we decided to get off the TTC ride, get out of limbo and choose our mental health and happiness over a fruitless battle for a child

– With no fallopian tubes, there were no chances of a surprise pregnancy and I was able to truly grieve and move on with my life. The removal of any hope at all…. was the best, best thing I could ever do

– In September 2022 I decided on a hysterectomy leaving my ovaries to try and ease the endometriosis pain, fibroid discomfort, bloating and irregular bleeding. My doctor questioned whether 39 was too young and what if I changed my mind about doing more IVF. I told him in no uncertain terms, I have accepted a life without children, I am happy and I want this thing out of me that has caused nothing but physical pain and heartache

– The surgery showed severe endometriosis again all over my organs as well as a new diagnosis of adenomyosis. Unfortunately, as I was well aware, a hysterectomy does not cure endometriosis and it will grow back on my other organs. A future surgery is probable, and I have to be on medication to slow the growth – but for now, I’m embracing the lack of abdominal pain and wearing white for the first time ever

– I’m about to start my third year of university. It has flown and I have absolutely LOVED IT. It has been completely life changing. I never remember feeling this way about my first degree – I think when you’re 18 you take learning for granted and I feel so lucky and privileged to be in a place – with the support of my husband – to be able to study full time and work part time. It’s all consuming but in a really good way. My world view has changed, my mind has broadened and the way I think and approach people and situations has completely changed. I didn’t know how much I didn’t know and it’s interesting to have to un-learn ways of doing things and thinking in order to become a social worker who is there for others in crisis. In a month I start my first placement and I am excited, nervous and really hope I enjoy the practice as much as the theory

– This year – I turn 40! After many years of being terrified about getting older and the chance of having kids diminishing – now that I don’t have to think about that, I feel so free. I also work with mostly older clients (80+) and so to me 40 still feels young but with life experience and wisdom – but with the potential still to learn and do so much.
So that is a very brief overview of the key parts of the last two years. In Part B, I’ll focus more on MCTD.

Leave a comment